Community news: Charleville

The winning group in Charleville Golf Club’s President’s Prize competition. Included are Joan Dore, Lady Captain, Ladies winner Valerie O’Keeffe, President Jim Harmon, Denis Murphy, competition winner and Jim Crowley, Club Captain
The winning group in Charleville Golf Club’s President’s Prize competition. Included are Joan Dore, Lady Captain, Ladies winner Valerie O’Keeffe, President Jim Harmon, Denis Murphy, competition winner and Jim Crowley, Club Captain

Charleville golfer Denis Murphy created a little piece of club history when he won the President’s (Jim Harmon) Prize last weekend, adding to the Captain’s (Jim Crowley) Prize that he won in June. Denis is the only player ever to win the two major club competitions in the same year at the popular club.

230 golfers teed off last Thursday morning and were led home by Denis Murphy, plying off a handicap of eighteen, with 43 points. Mark Dowling (16) was in second place with 42 points and John Coleman (24) was third on 41 points.

In fourth place was Michael Thompson (16) with 40 points, while the gross prize was taken by Cian O’Connell with 34 points, Owen Boyle (15) was in fifth place with 40 points and Michael O’Toole (18) was in sixth place.

The Presidents’ Prize to the ladies was won by Valerie O’Keeffe (24) with 43 points with Ann Weekes (25) in second place with 40 points, third was Nola Murray (36) also on 40 points, while Imelda O’Hanlon had the best gross.

Fans wheel into town for cycle race

Charleville Wheelers 18th annual Charleville 2-day 3-stage cycle race is once again based at the Charleville Park Hotel over this Saturday and Sunday. The race is recognised as one of the best in Ireland by the riders themselves and they are eagerly awaiting the renewal of the event.

The race has once again attracted a field of over 250 riders, representing the 32 counties and also among the entries are the National Singapore Ladies Road Race Champion Serene Lee who is riding for the Dutch team Masslandster, and Dutch international lady cyclist Hannah Gruber-Stadler riding for the Austrian team ARBÖ RAPSO.

In recent years the race has attracted upwards of 1,000 people to Charleville, filling all guesthouses and hotels in the local area, as far afield as Killmallock and Adare, which is a welcome additional boost to the local economy over the weekend.

The headquarters for the weekend is the Charleville Park Hotel, where race officials and personnel will meet on Friday evening at 8pm to discuss the plans for the two days. Racing then starts on Saturday morning between 8.30-10.30 am, when all pre-registered riders must sign-on. The race convoy will then ride a neutralised procession from the hotel forecourt to the official start out Smith’s road at Kiltwohig. The riders will then tackle an undulating 86km route, which will take them on to Dromina, Bog Cross, Dromcolliher, Milford and Newtownshandrum, This circuit will be completed three times before finishing back at Kiltwohig. Then at 4pm the A4 category riders will contest an individual time trial of 6.17km from the Gortboy service station in Killmallock to Crown Furniture, Garienderk.

The second day starts at 8am on Sunday morning when the A2/3 category riders contest the same individual time as the A4’S the previous evening – the last riders will finish at approximately 9.20am.

The final stage to the weekend is a 91km route which takes the riders over the Ballyhoura Mountains. The race convoy will once again ride neutralised procession from the hotel to the official start in Garienderk going onto Killmallock, Ardpatrick, Killdorrey, Before turning right to start the 8km climb of the Ballyhouras coming down past Ballyhoura Mountain Bike Centre, turning right at the bottom to continue once again to Killdorrey and back up the mountain for a second time. At the bottom the riders will turn left to head back through Ardpatrick. Killmallock, before completing the stage back where it all started in Garienderk.

The prize presentation will take place at the Charleville Park Hotel at approximately 5pm and everyone is welcome to soak up the atmosphere and mingle with the cyclists.

The committee of Charleville Wheelers Cycling Club asks residents and motorists on the circuits for their co-operation as delays may be caused by the race, especially around the finish areas of Smith’s Road on Saturday between 2pm and 3pm and on Sunday in Garienderk around 3pm and 4pm

Approximate time schedule:


Stage 1: 12.15 – 3pm.

Stage 2: 4pm – 5.30pm.


8am – 10.45am

Stage 3: 12.15 – 3.30pm.

Route details and the full weekend time schedule are available on:

Comhaltas to hold annual enrolment day

CCE An Ráth will hold its enrolment day on Saturday 15th September from 9am to 11.30am at the CBS Primary School, Charleville. The following instrumets are open for enrolment:Tin Whistle, Flute, Button Accordion, Fiddle, Banjo, Concertina, Bodhran,Uillean Pipes. Classes will be run subject to demand.

Term 1 is for 15 weeks and classes commence on Monday 24th September. Classes are in a group setting and are 30 minutes duration.

The following are the teachers at CCE An Ráth: Button Accordion – Alan Finn, Banjo – Adrian McAuiffe, Bodhran (Improvers) – Ger Naughton, Bodhran (Beginners) – Billy O Brien, Concertina – Ger Naughton, Flute – John Byrne and Con Ryan, Fiddle – Liam Flanagan & Alan Finn, Tin Whistle – John Byrne, Alan Finn, Con Ryan, Uillean Pipes – John Byrne

For further information see: , Tel 083 158 1311 or email [email protected]